Baby Surprise Jacket #7: Scrappy Style!

Here’s the finished jacket!

This was a fun experiment with sock yarn scraps, and I’m pretty chuffed with it. I’m still completely in love with an i-cord as the bind off for this jacket:

In this case I wanted to bind off with the pretty multi-colored, jewel-toned yarn that I started with. That and the dark fuchsia are meant to be the color anchors for the jacket, so I tried to pick scraps that would complement those colors or pick up one color and run with it a little while.

After much button jar digging, Katie and I agreed on this simple, slightly olive-colored button. I only wanted one button so as not to detract from the stripes, and so the jacket could swing open and show off the edging.

I think this is a love it or hate it jacket, and I love it. It certainly inspires me to play more with different yarns on the canvas of this pattern, even though weaving all the ends in was serious business!

The pattern is Elizabeth Zimmerman’s Baby Surprise Jacket, and as the title of this post proclaims, this is the 7th one I’ve completed. It’s such a lovely little thing for a baby.

I may have started another one.

 

 

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Baby Surprise Jacket #7: Scrappy Style!

  1. Lee

    I wonder if you could join your yarns using the “Russian Join” when you have to change colors, rather than weaving in ends. I hate ends! Your jacket is darling.

    Reply
    1. Kiersten Post author

      Thank you, Lee! I’ve used the Russian join when I’ve joined 2 balls of the same color, or when I didn’t care about the precise point at which the colors changed. My technique isn’t as precise as my OCD requires for circumstances like this one, where I need the colors to change at an exact point. I grumble a bit at the end of the project, when all those ends need to be woven in, but I like the overall effect better than I would if I was perpetually staring at a color change that was one stitch off. Maybe all this means is that I need to do some practicing om my Russian joining!

      Reply
  2. Jackie

    OmG that is gorgeous. I would be dead chuffed too. (Had forgotten the word “chuffed” as I have been away from the UK too long so thanks for the reminder)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

