Girasole

I have wanted to knit this pattern since it was published about 2 years ago. It’s a beautifully written pattern, and makes a blanket or a shawl, depending on the weight of the yarn used.

I made mine with Knit Picks Wool of the Andes, at least mostly.  I thought I’d purchased plenty of yarn for this project, after dutifully consulting the pattern’s published requirements and other knitters’ project pages, but I ran out after only a few repeats of the knitted-on edging. The rest of the edging is knit in 2 different shades of Cascade 220, pulled from the remnants stash, neither of which matched the yarn for the rest of the project. I’d have purchased a couple more skeins of the original yarn, but it was discontinued.

Lesson to me: Clearance yarn clears out fast, sister, so buy even more extra than you usually do, because your “cushion” isn’t nearly cushiony enough.

It’s not horribly noticeable. I’m going to repeat saying that until I believe it. This was the second of my 12 in 2011 projects, so I’m right on track with that. I’m slightly less on track with my Knit. Sock. Love. knit along project, as I only completed one of the pairs scheduled for January/February. (The other pair has one sock finished.)

This is a two-fer, though, as these socks will go straight to the Christmas Box, to be pulled out again in peaceful tranquility sometime in December, as I’m pulling out piles of gifts that have been made throughout the year.  Isn’t that a lovely thought?

3 thoughts on “Girasole

  1. Linda

    Girasole has been in my queue for quite a while. Someday I will be able to afford the yarn to make it. So gorgeous! You did a beautiful job.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

