Well, that was fun!

I spent the entirety (almost) of New Year’s Day planted in my favorite loveseat, with football on the TV, my family all around, and 2011 stuff to cast on!  I showed quite a bit of self-restraint, I think, in only casting on 5 items. Sean laughed whenever I left the room for a few minutes and re-entered with new yarn and needles. “Another one?” he’d ask. I’d nod and giggle like a 7 year old girl (and we have one, so I know).

So, in order of cast on:

Cookie A’s Pointelle from the new book, for the Knit.Sock.Love knit along, using Madelinetosh Sock yarn in Wisteria.

Fiddlehead mittens in which I am completely ignoring pattern recommendations and using my beloved Dream in Color Smooshy. I had some nicely coordinated leftovers from sock projects and once the idea came to me, it wouldn’t leave. This is for the 12 in 2011 group, which is all about using up stash to knit patterns we’ve already got in the queue.  The next two projects are for this same group.

Double Vision, which is an insanely cool idea that I’m hoping will eat a big bite out of the acrylic stash. It is going to be very heavy, and will probably have the constitution to weather a nuclear holocaust.  My great great great grandchildren are going to be passing this one around. “Come ON, Elizabeth! I’ve had to carry Grammy Kirky’s blanket around for TEN YEARS. This decade is YOUR TURN!”

Girasole, which is an entirely different sort of blanket. Even though I’m knitting in in normal Knit Picks Wool of the Andes worsted wool, it’s going to be a favorite. I’ve loved the sunflower motif since I first saw this pattern a couple years ago. You’ve all heard of navy sunflowers, right? Right.

This is Hedera, another sock for the KSL KAL.  This one’s available for free here.

Today I’ve limited myself to Pointelle and Double Vision (which I am lovingly calling FrankenBlanket).  Five cast ons in one day was a little heady for this girl.  Got to tone it down for non-holidays, or I suspect Sean’s chuckles will turn into that nervous laughter that immediately precedes calling some organization about interventions.

Did you start any fun projects for New Year’s?

4 thoughts on “Well, that was fun!

  1. Robin

    Just found your blog through Twist’s Ravelry page. I am also knitting the Fiddlehead mittens. Are you doing them in just two colors or all different colors? I went with the two for my first pair and maybe if I knit them again I will try it with more.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

