Undecided

This is where I am before heading to take the yahoos to the Y.

I am just not sure about this, folks.

On the one hand, they’re fine. It’s an impressive pattern, and it looks pretty good, but it doesn’t look perfect.  I don’t feel so good about turning in something for the fair that I don’t think is perfect. Last year’s socks had zero visible flaws, and only 2 mistakes in the whole mess, which were sufficiently fudged so that they were not noticeable.

These socks could look perfect once they’re done and blocked. I just don’t know. It’s hard to imagine though, and I’m just not confident enough in my fair isle skills. (Not to mention the fact that the designer laughed in the face of The Rules that clearly state no color should be carried across the back for the distances she’s called for.)

I have to run out, and these are in a tender spot for transport. So I’m bringing another pattern and another yarn, and I’m going to see how far I get on a completely different sock pattern.

I’m just not sure about these…

7 thoughts on “Undecided

  1. chautona

    Well, from what I can see, they look great, so I’d say go for it.

    HOWEVER, if the back has long strings, it doesn’t matter what the pattern says, you’ll probably get docked for it. so, considering that, I’d probably go for a different pair.

    Reply
    1. Kiersten Post author

      That is an excellent point. A good judge will know “the rules” and will not think highly of long long carries on the wrong side. It’s a very cool pattern, but probably not best for competition.

      THANK YOU.

      Reply
  2. Challice

    I for one cannot see any flaws and think they are gorgeous. If you however think another pair should be knitted for the fair… well you know my address. I will of course support any (good) decision you make. 😉

    Reply
  3. Sarah

    I can’t see the colors very well. 😦 It’s hard to have an opinion when I can’t really see the pattern.

    That said, if you’re not feeling confident and you have enough time to start something else, I would start a new project.

    Reply
  4. Kiersten Post author

    I have 13 days, counting today. I started on another one tonight at gymnastics, and I’m so much more comfortable with it. I really appreciate the comments!

    Reply
    1. momframer1

      Go with your gut. You have great instincts so follow them wherever they take you on this one!! The sock looks awesome but only you can see what the judges will see.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

