Startitis Stopgap

Tidying up my desk and buffet is double-edged sword.  On the one hand, it’s nice to see surfaces again, and I’ve lost the “clutter twitches” that sometimes occur. On the other hand, when I do not have 100 unfinished projects readily visible, startitis inevitably ensues. Rational? No. Real? You’d better believe it.

Today I took steps.  I took a page from the Yarn Harlot’s blog and made myself some kits.  I picked out 7 skeins of sock yarn that I’ve been loving but haven’t brought myself to use yet, and 7 patterns from my Ravelry queue that have been languishing there forever. I printed out the patterns from online that were there, and copied the ones that were from books I own. Each skein/pattern combo is in its own ziploc bag, ready to be pulled out as soon as I’ve earned the right to start something new. I’m really going to try to finish 2-3 other projects first, but I’m making no promises.  Here’s what I’ve got all ready to go:

Rick, by Cookie A, in Dream in Color Smooshy, Visual Purple colorway

Hedera, by Cookie A., in The Sanguine Gryphon Eidos, Bacchic colorway

Mingus, by Cookie A. (I might be sensing a theme), Dream in Color Smooshy, Absolute Magenta colorway

Ornette, by Cookie A. (definite maybe on that theme), Wollmeise Twin, Hortensie colorway

Zen Garden, by Adrienne Fong (there it went), Politically Incorrect Yarns MCN, If I Only Had a Brain colorway

Conwy, by Nancy Bush, Dream in Color Smooshy, Dusky Aurora colorway

Clover, by Kate Blackburn, Malabrigo Sock, Cordovan colorway

Why 7, you may ask? That’s how many ziplocs I had left. (Note to self: put big ziplocs on the grocery list.)

Leave a Reply

