Crossing the tape

Sunday marked the end of the Tour de France, and the Tour de Fleece.  On Saturday I finished up this last yarn.

I’m calling it Nostalgia, because it reminds me of my great Grandmother’s sunny California garden.  I don’t know that she had any flowers in her garden that remotely resembled the shades in this yarn, but I blame a vague and romantic childhood memory.

This roving came from FatCatKnits and it was such a pleasant spin…I know it doesn’t sound like it could possibly be correct to call fiber (even merino) “creamy”, but it’s the best I can do.  Wonderful stuff.  I 2-plied it and it came to 528 yards of fingering/sock weight.  It’s already listed in the shop.

That brings my grand total for the Tour de Fleece to 2697 yards of yarn spun from 28 oz of fiber. I’m very pleased.

Now that the Tour is over, it’s time to jump on a new knitting adventure bandwagon:

Ayup…I’ll be casting on for a shawl and starting some spinning during the opening ceremonies, joining thousands of others on Ravelry as we create and cheer through the Olympics.  Love it!

My knitting has taken a bit of a back seat lately to the spinning, but I have been putzing along on a few projects.  I’ve got a large dishcloth order that’s almost complete, and a set of dishcloths made for a swap

and another little venture, my first knit with Noro, which is under wraps at the moment.  I’ve made some progress on the Killing Time socks, too…I’ll get a pic of that up soon.

3 thoughts on “Crossing the tape

  1. sodbusters

    Love the washcloths! Did you use the swiffer pattern?
    Guess what I figured out this weekend… Yep, I am doing that head scarf like Jenna’s out of deep wine color. Its soooo pretty.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

