Blueberry Buckle

Here’s the latest Tour de Fleece project: 222 yards of superwash merino, 2 plied.  The Tour has been a great motivator to get back to my wheel, and she’s showing her appreciation by NOT SQUEAKING ANYMORE!  Wahooty!  It might have something to do with the fact that I finally got brave/stupid enough to move the drive band off the slowest whorl and moved it to the middle one. I don’t know for sure, but I’m sure I don’t care…it makes spinning much more pleasant!

I’ve been drying these skeins indoors, hanging over an air conditioning vent.  It takes 36-48 hours for them to completely dry. Today it occurred to me that I ought to take advantage of the 98* heat and relatively gentle breezes provided me during a Kansas summer.  I set this skein out, hanging on a plastic hanger which in turn was hung on a wind chime, and it was dry within 2 hours.  Crazy fast!

Next up: a silk/merino blend and a (brief) explanation of technique for thin versus thick yarns.

2 thoughts on “Blueberry Buckle

Leave a Reply

