Easter Stoles

ellie-stole.jpgkatie-stole.jpg

The trick with these stoles is that there is no trick at all.  If you’ve got a lace pattern you like, or a stich dictionary, you can do this sort of thing with one eye shut.

I picked a lace pattern from my stitch dictionary, then figured how many repeats I’d need to make the shawl around 50 stitches wide.  The one on the right was a 17 stitch pattern, so I decided on 3 repeats = 51 stitches.  I cast on 55 stitches to allow for a 2 stitch garter edging on the sides of the stole.  After casting on, I did a few rows of garter stitch for a nice simple, sturdy edge, and then proceeded to knit the lace like this :k2, lace pattern x3, k2.  Once it was as long as I wanted, I finished with some more garter stitch, wove in ends, and blocked it.

I know there are an infinite number of more elegant methods and patterns for making shawls, but this is a good way to get your feet wet if you’ve been hesitant to try knitting lace. 

These stoles needed to be knit quickly for Easter, and the girls seem to love them.

2 thoughts on “Easter Stoles

Leave a Reply

