The Dishcloth

dw.jpg

The cotton dishcloth is my standard go-to, portable project.  If we’re headed out the door, it’s almost automatic…grab the size 9s and some cotton along with the purse on the way out the door.  Or, more often than not, just grab the purse because the dishcloth in progress is already stuffed in there.  No wonder I can never find my keys in 30 seconds or less, or answer the cell phone before it goes to voicemail.

The dishcloths I make are mindless enough that I can knit them in the car without the help of a pattern and less-drowsy Dramamine.  I’ve got 2 current favorites.  The one in the picture above can be found here.  It’s a wonderful way to highlight the colors in variegated yarn without getting those strange clumps of color.

The other pattern I’ve used through most of Katie’s soccer season is so simple I can never find the pattern.  I think the assumption is that there are some things so obvious they don’t need a pattern, kind of like the garter stitch scarf or the garter stitch dishcloth, which is the world’s easiest dishcloth pattern. But here it is, in case you’re like me, and you’d like a pattern anyway:

The World’s Second Easiest Dishcloth

materials: one ball of 100% cotton yarn, needles somewhere in the 7-9 range

CO 4 stitches

Row 1: knit across

Row 2: k2, knit into the front and the back of the next stitch (increasing by one stitch…making 2 stitches where there used to be 1), k1  You should have 5 stitches

Row 3: k2, yo, knit to the end

repeat row 3 until the dishcloth is as wide as you want

To decrease: k1, k2tog, yo, k2tog, knit to end

repeat until you have 4 stitches left

Bind off all stitches. Weave in ends.

See what I mean?  Mindless.  Easy peasy.  A great way to teach or practice increases and decreases. Here’s a look at the finished product (and yes, I just took this out of my purse).

 dishcloth1.jpg

I must warn you that dishcloths are wondrously addictive. It is possible to get on a roll and suddenly find yourself with an unsightly pile of homeless dishcloths.

one-foot.jpg

Fortunately, they make great gifts.

I decided to keep a running tally over there on the right of all the dishcloths completed since the beginning of this blog.  This could get interesting.

8 thoughts on “The Dishcloth

  1. Sharon

    I do the mindless, easy one. Soooo simple. I know the knitting lady at speech who is working on a sweater think my dishcloths are so sad, lol. Oh well. I love them! None for gifts as I find my kids using them at bathtime. *sigh*

    Reply
  2. Cathe

    I’ll have to try the 2nd easiest one! I have made lots of the very easiest, even in that same yarn (Golly, I wonder where you bought it!) … but NOT as many as you!

    Reply
  3. Mrs. Heidmann

    Hmm… you have some awfully pretty yarn, especially that dark green. I don’t think I’ve seen that one! That pattern does smooth out the color variations. Really pretty! 🙂

    Reply
  4. Layla

    Thank you for the tips!! 🙂

    I really want to make some, but am somewhat afraid to try! 🙂

    And what are they like to use?
    Is it horrible to wash the dishes with them?
    How often must they be washed in a washing machine after/in-between use? (Is 1x a week enough?)
    Or am I just totally overthinking this, lol?! 🙂

    Do you use just cotton or other fibres too?

    Reply
  5. Kiersten Post author

    Layla, these are no-fear projects! “Mistakes” are just extra scrubbies or “design elements”. 😉

    I just use cotton. I wash ’em when they look or smell funky…usually 1 day is enough in my very busy kitchen, although my children seem to think 1 use is enough.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

