scarf

Birthday Scarf!

scarfMy friend sent me some lovely yarn as part of a birthday package. I knew as soon as I squished it that it was meant to be a scarf…one of those artsy, hip, highly-textured scarves that look fabulous on my teenaged daughter.

I used the backward loop method to cast on 150 stitches on size 11 needles. I then knit 20 rows of garter stitch (knit all stitches). I used Jeny’s Surprisingly Stretchy Bind Off (a brilliant technique), and then cut enough fringe to attach to  22 garter ridge bumps (11 on each end of the scarf).  I was a little nervous about having enough yarn, but the 154 yards in the Universal Yarn Bamboo Bloom Handpaints was more than enough. This yarn needed to be showcased in such a way that the differing textured could really shine, and I think this sort of uber-simple pattern is just the ticket.

k

 

This teeny bopper is a little taller than 5’2″ and you can see the scarf is plenty long on her. I think the bind off is the necessary secret ingredient, as you want the scarf to be able to stretch evenly between the cast on and bind off without any puckering.

She seems to like it, even though it’s mine!

 

3 thoughts on “Birthday Scarf!

  1. Nicole Hale

    Well, if she’s good and does all her schoolwork and chores, and maybe gives you a shoulder massage, maybe she could borrow it now and then. . .:)

    Reply
  2. Nicole Hale

    Ahh, I just thought the yarn was pretty, but pretty yarn sitting on a shelf isn’t very practical–you managed to make it into something that’s now both pretty and practical :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

