green red

It’s almost time!

Whee, hooray! In spite of a little nonsense over the name of this event, it’s almost time for what is now being called the Ravellenic Games!  I love this international gathering of crocheters, spinners, knitters, and other fiber artists!

Last Olympics, I knit this:

The Olympics before that I did a lot of spinning, and the one before that I knit this from my own handspun yarn:

This year I’m going to do a swirl jacket out of Knit, Swirl! by Sandra McIver. It’s going to be a little ridiculous, but I wanted a real challenge, and this Coat of Many Colors is going to be so challenging (timewise) that it is very likely that I will not finish it by the end of the games. If I do manage to finish, I will feel like the US swimmers of the men’s 4 x 100 freestyle relay felt 4 years ago. I guess that’s sort of the point of this whole exercise though, isn’t it? I need to do some swatching in the next few days, and some yarn prep, and then I’ll be ready for the opening ceremonies.

Until then, I’m still working on that red top test knit for Katie, a baby sweater, and the next pattern to be written and tested. Here’s a little peek:

If I like it when it’s done, it may become a State Fair Entry. Sean says I need to make sure that I tell the judges it’s my own pattern. Think that would sway the judges my way?  Now that I think of it, I could enter the sweater, too, assuming it gets finished!

I kind of missed not entering last year. Are any of you entering contests this summer?

One thought on “It’s almost time!

Leave a Reply

