Knitter’s Almanac Scarf

It may not look like much at the moment, but this is one of the projects I’m most excited about this year. It’s plain old garter stitch, nothin’ fancy. The cool part is that I’m going to knit two rows (one garter ridge) each day (God willing), and I’m going to use a yarn that matches the Kansas skies.

I struggled a bit about how to keep things accurate and properly represented. Should I knit at the same time each day? Is that even possible with my schedule? How do I show a the amount of clouds on a cloudy day without using every shade between white and gray and blue known to man? Do I want this to be wearable? How do I deal with the fact that Kansas weather seems to change every 5 minutes?

In the end I just decided to toss perfect accuracy out the window. I decided I did want to wear the thing after all, so I chose 5 colors that look well together. Darker blue for clear skies, lighter blue for partially cloudy, light gray for cloudy/light rain, dark gray for stormy, white for snow or frost. I’ll just look out my window when I’m ready to knit and choose the color based on what I see. I’m really excited to see how this turns out!

Other knitting today:

Progress on my first venture into the land of fingerless mitts with partial fingers.

And a few rows’ more on Craic. The cables on this are awesome, but I’m a tad concerned about how snug it may turn out to be. It will certainly get a vigorous blocking.

Tonight I’m going to work on a shop/class model sock. The yarn is eye-searing green. My mom would love it!

3 thoughts on “Knitter’s Almanac Scarf

Leave a Reply

