It’s December 16th???

I am thinking of starting a petition.  I’m suggesting that the perceived flow-of-time factors of February and December be swapped. December goes by far too quickly. The under-14 contingent might form a strong opposition, but I say we deny them suffrage. Anyone with me?

Last time I popped on here I had high hopes and expectations for how that Saturday would go.  About 2 hours later I was huddled on the couch nearest the bathroom, buried under 6 heavy blankets, experiencing the wonders of (we think) food poisoning.  Lovely.

However, it was a busy and good week, and I think (at least for this week) everything has gotten where it needed to go or is speeding on its way.  Mom and Dad liked their handknits (Unoriginal Hat for Mom & Woodsmen Socks for Dad). 

socks.jpg

I still get that grade-school feeling when I give away handmade things, especially to my parents.  Will they like it?  Will they like it because it’s cool or just because I made it?  Will they hang onto it forever for sentimental reasons even when it is or becomes, objectively, a piece of junk?  My parents kept all the ornaments we made in school…you know the ones using styrofoam egg cartons and clay?  Seriously.  I don’t even want to think about how many pieces of unidentifiable pottery art projects they still have.  As a parent myself, though, I can sympathize.  I was cleaning out a purse yesterday and couldn’t bear to throw out a note written years ago by a little Katie..KATIE (heart) MOMMA!  It was one of hundreds like it but could I pitch it? No way.

All of the Christmas orders went out this week, too, including the completed Fair Isle Skirt and Cardigan.  I’m not posting my cruddy picture of the skirt. I have it on good authority that it will be well photographed in its new home.  I can wait.  Sean liked it enough to threaten me with violence (whatever…big ole softie) if I didn’t reproduce something like it for the State Fair this year. Katie also informed me that she reeeeeeeeealllllllyyy neeeeeeeeeeeeeds one.  I think they’re in cahoots.

Nine knitting days til Christmas. Here’s a funny for you I got on an email loop:

 KNITTING
A highway patrolman pulled alongside a speeding car
on the freeway.
Glancing at the car, he was astounded to see that
the blonde behind the wheel was knitting!
Realizing that she was oblivious to his flashing lights
and siren, the trooper cranked down his window,
turned on his bullhorn and yelled, ‘PULL OVER!’
‘NO!’ the blonde yelled back, ‘IT’S A SCARF!’

One thought on “It’s December 16th???

Leave a Reply

